Board of Directors & Advisors - Sweetgrass Board of Directors & Advisors - Sweetgrass

Board Of Directors

caption bottom“A neighborhood within a neighborhood.” - Ross Chapin

Board of Directors

Anne Daigh is a native of Cumming, Georgia and has lived in Nashville for 17 years.  She is Principal and founder of Anne Daigh Landscape Architecture, graduate of the College of Environment and Design at the University of Georgia and curator of the art gallery, Gallery Tangerine, on South Street.  Anne is an artist and art collector in addition to gardener.  She spends part of her time in California.

Jaqueline Cayton is a Licensed Practical Nurse, retired.  She has worked in public health clinics and corrections facilities and is a small group facilitator with Restore Ministries at the Middle Tennessee YMCA.  She starts school this year at Lindsey Wilson College to get a Masters in Counseling degree.  Jaquie says,  “When I think of Sweetgrass, I think of a therapeutic place.”

Jessica Tate has degree in psychology and social work, is a Certified Employment Support professional and manages vocational and therapy programs at the Center for Living and Learning. She is also Volunteer Coordinator, certified in vocational assessments, works with state and local agencies on behalf of The Center for Living and Learning and is grantwriter for the Center, a supported living facility.

Kevin Kazlauskas is the owner and CEO of Make It Pop Creations, a video/animations company based in Nashville.  He serves as Community Manager for a community project under development on the Ben Allen Land Trust site in East Nashville.  Also a partner in Studio 615, his hobbies include running, yoga, urban farming and dog training.  He moved to Nashville from Cambridge, M A.

Lynn Davis is a trained physical therapist, specializing in head trauma and neurological disorders, Lynn trained in the pioneering field of neurofeedback in 2001 and now also has a practice offering treatment for brain imbalances:  stroke, ADHD, OCD, autism, Aspergers, fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue, learning disabilities, memory loss and processing disorders.  Lynn moved from L A to Nashville in 1994.

Dave Walton is Vice President of the board, Voice-Over engineer and talent, editor and former radio announcer. He is Past President of  Tennessee Trails Association, Past President of Graham Inquirers class, chairman of Simplicity Class, co-chair of Fellowship Friends, co-sponsor of young adult Class, past member of Board of Directors of Belmont United Methodist church, and Board of Directors of Arden Place Homeowners Association. Dave is an organic gardener, music guru and avid Commodores basketball fan.

Mary Kay Walton.  Retired fund raising officer of Belmont Univ, Kids on the Block and The TN Committee for Prevention of Child Abuse, director of Camp-of-the Woods and Camp Rowdy Wood Therapeutic Camp, past pres, The Parents Council of Nashville, founder and past pres. of Springboard Social Network, past pres, Parents Together of Harpeth Hall, past pres. of Westminster Parents’ Association.  Board President.

Tom Berkshire, Consultant, Generations of Hope.  President and CEO of Generations of Hope, President and CEO of New Century Retirement Living, Previously, Chief of Staff for the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services, President and CEO of Illinois Easter Seal Society, Human Service policy analyst for Governor James R. Thompson and budget and planning analyst for Governor Dan Walker.  Earlier, a consultant for the Greater London Council,  San Diego County and the State of Connecticut, assisting in the development of a Planning, Program, Budgeting system  He has worked on several Generations of Hope projects.


The Foundational Committee

  • Tom Berkshire
  • Debbie Brevard
  • Becky Davidson
  • Mike Davidson
  • Samantha Hart
  • Sylvia Hutton
  • Jessica Tate
  • Dave Walton
  • Mary Kay Walton



  • Tom Berkshire, Executive Director, Generations of Hope, President, New Century Retirement Living
  • Thelma Kidd, Business coach, principle, Davis- Kidd Booksellers
  • Jim Bradford, Dean, (retired) Owen School of Management
  • Bill Freeman, Chairman, Freeman Webb, Inc.
  • Joseph Presley, Chairman, President and CEO, Cumberland Trust & Investment
  • Kent Phillips, CEO, Trezevant Manor Retirement Home, Memphis
  • Larry Howlett, IRS, retired, accountant, Center for Nonprofit Management
  • John Noel, The John Noel Co., Real Estate Broker, Environmentalist
  • Crom Carmichael, Chairman and CEO, Discovery Sound Technology, other companies
  • Alan Enzo, Ph.D., M.B.A., Director, Nashville Permaculture Design
  • Clyde Heflin, physician, real estate investor
  • Laura Hobson, Executive Director, Faith Family Medical Clinic
  • Mike Tatum, Natural Resources Conservation Programs, Lawrence County
  • Gregg Brann, Grazing Lands and Soil Health specialist, NRCS/ USDA, Nashville
  • Barbara DeBerry, Director of Provider Supports and Services, State of TN
  • Janet Jernigan, Executive Director, Fifty Forward
  • Jeff Poppin, consultant in biodynamic farming, “The Barefoot Farmer”
  • Nancy Northington.  MBA degree, Owen School of Management., CPA
  • Jay Barron, Broker/ Accredited Land Consultant, Barron Properties
  • Dr. Susan McGrew, retired pediatrician specializing in developmental disabilities
  • Carolyn Ohle, Executive Director, retired July 2015, Innisfree Village
  • John Graham, Executive Director, The Serenbe Institute
  • Janet Salyer, Presbyterian minister
  • Brenda Hauk, Executive Director, Brightstone, providing day programs
  • Peggy deLuke, mother of autistic sons, project director for community in Colorado
  • Garrett Schultz, MBA, Owen School of Management
  • Teri Daughtery, Owner, Terian Farms Wedding Venue and Equestrian Program
  • Jane Coble, artist, Community Volunteer
  • William LeVancher, Concept Development Advisor, ECOWorks, LLC
  • Douglass Smith, CPA, COO Emerald Shelter Group (retirement housing)
  • Frank Ryan, Burkhalter and Ryan, PC, CPA
  • Elmo Shade, NVC practitioner, Mindful Foundations, holistic business intervention
  • Margaret Smith, President, Medical Accounts Management
  • Beth Spong, Director, The Treehouse Foundation
  • Giles Blunden, founder, Arcadia Co-Housing Community, Chapel Hill, N C
  • Chrissy Kirkwood, owner, Kirkwood Realty
  • Mike Bodnar, Fresh Hospitality, Community Development Corporation
  • Gayley and Bob Patterson, Vanderbilt University Admissions, Managing Partner, Bradley, Arant, Boult, Cummings
  • Diana Sullivan, Chair, National Co-housing Conference, 2017, real estate agent